Uganda Technology And Managment University has appointed a new Acting Dean for the UTAMU Graduate School.

Dr. Willy Ngaka, Ag. Dean UTAMU Graduate School

Dr. Willy Ngaka, who is a member of the International Jury for UNESCO International Literacy Prozes holds a PhD & M.Ed from University of KwaZulu-Natal, PGD & Masters in Project Monitoring and Evaluation from Uganda Technology and Management University, MA (PAM) & BA from Makerere University; and Diploma in Education from Kyambogo University.

He is the founding and sitting National Coordinator for the Centre for Lifelong Learning and a Senior Lecturer in the College of Education and External Studies at Makerere University.

Dr. Ngaka has passion for literacies and a plethora of publications in the field. He founded the Uganda Rural Literacy and Community Development Association and is the convener of National annual intergenerational, cross-cultural and multilingual literacy conferences in Uganda. His most recent articles the Journal of Language and Literacy Education published in 2016 is “Generational, cultural, and linguistic integration for literacy learning and teaching in Uganda.

He is now finishing a book on Modernizing Agriculture or Reproducing Poverty in Uganda: An ethnographic study of subsistence farmers’ literacy practices” and an article on “the role of orthography in adult literacy learning in African languages: The case of Lugbarati in Uganda” to be published in the International Review of Education.

Dr. Ngaka is also a UIL’s CONFINTEA research scholar and received a UNESCO scholarship to share his best practices in literacy at UNESCO’s Kominkan-CLCs International Conference on Education for Sustainable Development in Japan in 2013; and the 2006 Elva Knight Research Award for best PhD research proposal. He is also a member of the consortium of seniors in Africa.

Uganda Technology and Management University (UTAMU) staff is preparing for its third graduation scheduled for Friday, 29th September 2017 at Silver Springs Hotel in Kampala.

UTAMU staff members in a group photo.

More than 260 students are expected to graduate with Masters Degrees, Post-graduate Diplomas, Bachelor’s degrees and Undergraduate diplomas in various disciplines.

The Graduation Ceremony will be presided over by the former Vice President of Kenya, H.E. Hon. Dr. Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka. Kalonzo who is the University Chancellor.

UTAMU Management staff

In only five years of operation, UTAMU is already at a level of competing favorably with older universities. UTAMU has grown from five (5) academic programmes to 42 programmes at undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

The number of students has grown tremendously as well as the staff numbers both academic and administrative staff. The university has over 1800 students at various levels. With the last graduation held on 30th September 2016, UTAMU now has a good and quality team of more than 270 alumni raising the UTAMU flag in the field.

UTAMU School of Business and Management staff. UTAMU Public Relations Department staff. 

UTAMU Registry Department staff members.UTAMU School of Computing and Engineering staff members. UTAMU Registry staff members.

The National Council for Higher Education (NCHE) has accredited three new programmes to be offered at UTAMU.

UTAMU Administrative Block

The new programmes are;

  • Postgraduate Diploma in Financial Management,
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Institutional Governance and
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Oil and Gas Management

UTAMU offers more than 42 academic programmes being offered at the University on Masters Degrees, Post-graduate Diplomas, Bachelor’s degrees and Undergraduate Diplomas. Every academic programme offered at the university is accredited by the Nationl Council of Higher Education. Here is the LINK to the programmes.

The Vice Chancellor Prof. Benon Basheka,  while announcing the new development to staff said the accreditation of the new programmes was a significant step for UTAMU in its strategy of giving Ugandans opportunities to access education that is trendy and dynamic.

This week UTAMU welcomed new students for the 2017 September intake. The new semester officially began on 10th September when both continuing and new students reported.

Group photo of newly admitted undergraduate students for September 2017  Intake.

The undergraduate orientation activity took place on 11th September 2017 at UTAMU Campus in Bugolobi and students were addressed by both Academic and Management staff.

The orientation exercise introduced the new students to the UTAMU culture, the teaching and learning approach, what is expected of them and what to expect from UTAMU administration and faculty and other issues necessary to get them ready for their learning journey at UTAMU.

Prof. Benon Basheka speaking to the students

Speaking at the orientation event, Vice Chancellor Prof Benon Basheka welcomed the students and assured them of the best at UTAMU.

He advised them that to make it life they knowledge, skills and a positive attitude.

Dr. John Ngubiri, Deadn School of Computing and Engineering speaking to the students.  The newly admitted undergraduate students in the September 2017 Intake The Academic Registrar,  Mr. Mersian Tulyahebwa speaking at the event.

Request Information

Request FREE Information
Courses, Admission
Please select your first choice programme
Please type your first name.
Please type your last name.
Invalid email address.
Please enter your telephone number
Invalid Input

Find Us on Facebook

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

© 2016 Uganda Technology And Management University. All Rights Reserved.