Winners of 2017 World Cross Country Championships to Pocket Shs102m

The winners of next year’s World Cross Country Championships here will pocket no more than what was given for the 2015 edition held in Guiyang, China.

The global body, International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), confirmed yesterday that winners in the men’s and women’s individual categories will receive $30, 000 (Shs102m).

That figure is sliced in half for the second-placed individual with prize money dropping to Shs10.2m ($3, 000) for sixth place. There aren’t cash prizes for the juniors.

For the team category, IAAF chief executive officer Olivier Gers, the best teams will pocket Shs68m ($20, 000). Runners-up get $4, 000 less and there is money to win up to sixth place. Relay winners can earn as much Ssh41m ($12, 000). Uganda Athletics Federation (UAF) named a 49-man list including former world and Olympic marathon champion Stephen Kiprotich.

Selected runners, under coach Benjamin Longiross are supposed to camp from tomorrow with the final team to be picked from the National Cross-country on January 14 in Kololo. However, even as hosts, Uganda will need a major improvement from the performance in Guiyang to keep some of that money here.

Two years ago, Moses Kibet was the best performer finishing eighth in the senior men’s race.

In fact, Uganda only managed a bronze medal from the junior women’s race with Stella Chesang touching the ‘rope’ in 11th.

A total of 410 athletes from 51 countries participated then. An increase is expected for the 49th edition of the global showpiece that will go a long way in showcasing Uganda.




1.$30,000 2. $15,000 3. $10,000


1.$20,000 2. $16,000 3. $12,000



1.$12,000 2. $8,000, 3. 6,000

Request Information

Request FREE Information
Courses, Admission
Please select your first choice programme
Please type your first name.
Please type your last name.
Invalid email address.
Please enter your telephone number
Invalid Input

Find Us on Facebook

© 2016 Uganda Technology And Management University. All Rights Reserved.