Web Analytics


Prof. Charles Kwesiga
Prof. Charles KwesigaMember Senate
Dr. Erasma Demeris Rutechura
Dr. Erasma Demeris RutechuraUniversity Secretary and Dean Law School
Prof. Fred Paul Mark Jjunju, PhD
Prof. Fred Paul Mark Jjunju, PhDDean Graduate School and Principal, Bugolobi Campus
Ms. Barbara Birungi Mutabazi
Ms. Barbara Birungi MutabaziMember Senate
Dr. Joseph Baleke Yiga Lubega
Dr. Joseph Baleke Yiga LubegaDVC & Dean Business School
Prof. JWF Muwanga-Zake. PhD.
Prof. JWF Muwanga-Zake. PhD.Dean School of Education, Technical & Vocational Education
Mirembe Florence
Mirembe FlorenceUniversity Librarian
Prof. Peter Jegrace Jehopio
Prof. Peter Jegrace JehopioDean School of Computing and Engineering
Dr. Wilfred Kokas Aupal
Dr. Wilfred Kokas AupalDean Humanities and Social Sciences
Innocent Orishaba
Innocent OrishabaPostgraduate Student Representative

The University Senate shall be responsible to the University Council for the academic affairs of the University.

Membership of University Senate

  1. The Vice Chancellor as Chairperson;
  2. The Deputy Vice Chancellor (s);
  3. Deans of Schools as may be established within the University;
  4. Directors of Directorates as may be established within the University;
  5. One representative of senior academic staff from each School of the University elected by the academic staff of the school;
  6. One postgraduate student representative elected by the postgraduate students;
  7. The Guild President of UTAMU Students’ Guild; and
  8. Three persons capable of contributing to the academic and socio- economic development of the University appointed by the Board of Directors.
  9. The Academic Registrar shall be the Secretary to the University Senate.

Functions and Powers of the University Senate

  • The University Senate shall be responsible for the organization, control and direction of the academic matters of the University and as such the Senate shall be in charge of the teaching, research and the general standards of education and research and their assessment in the University.
  • The Senate shall:
    1. Initiate the academic policy of the University and advise the University Council on the required facilities to implement the policy;
    2. Direct and regulate the instruction programme and the structure of any degree, diploma or certificate course within the University;
    3. Advise the University Council regarding the eligibility and qualifications of persons for admission to courses leading to the conferment of the degree or award of diploma, certificate or other award of the University;
    4. Make regulations regarding the content and academic standard of any course of study in respect of a degree, diploma, or certificate or other wards;
    5. Make regulations regarding the standard of proficiency to be attained in each examination for a degree, diploma, certificate or other award by the University;
    6. Decide which persons have reached the standard of proficiency and are fit for the award of any degree, diploma, certificate or other awards of the University;
    7. Advise the University Council on the promotion, coordination, control and general direction of research in the University;
    8. Consider and report to the University Council on any matter relating to, or in connection with the academic work of the University;
    9. Recommend to the University Council the establishment of Schools and Departments r other academic units;
    10. The Senate may deprive any person of a degree, diploma, certificate or other award of a University if after due inquiry it is found that the award was obtained through fraud or dishonorable or scandalous conduct. A person deprived of an award by the Senate may appeal to the University Council against the decision of the Senate; and
    11. The Senate may delegate any of its powers or functions to a school board or senate committee as the Senate may consider fit.

University Senate Committees

A Senate Committee shall comprise of 5 members including the Chairperson.  The Chairperson of a Senate Committee shall be a Deputy Vice Chancellor. The Academic Registrar/ Director for Academic Affairs shall be secretary of all senate committees. The University Council shall approve the number of committees and terms of reference of senate committees. The University Senate shall appoint the members of senate committees from among its members and/ or non-members.

Online Resourses

Bugolobi Campus

Plot 2 Erisa Rd, Kiswa Bugolobi Kampala;
P.O Box 73307 Kampala Uganda
+256-702-646-093, +256-750-599-736, +256-780-249-942

Kungu Campus

Plot 8374 Block 82 Kyadondo, Kungu, Gombe, Nansana, Wakiso;
P.O Box 73307 Kampala Uganda
+256-702-646-093, +256-750-599-736, +256-780-249-942